We have great deals just for you! more
Take our quiz to find out your travel style! more
Victoria has culinary experiences for every taste. more
Vacation Guide App 2017
2016 Vacation Guide PDF 

Tourism Victoria Miracle Award

The Miracle Award was established in 1982 to award an outstanding individual or group who has shown leadership in the development of tourism in Greater Victoria. The award is named for Miracle, the young orca rescued by Sealand of the Pacific staff in 1977. The recipient of the Miracle Award receives an original whale sculpture carved from Vancouver Island cedar by Victoria sculptor Martin Schaddelee.  

Congratulations to the 33rd annual Miracle Award winner Svein Haugen!

Svein Haugen


Svein Haugen spent 35 years as a provincial civil servant, most recently as Director of Properties and Land Management Branch with the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure.
Svein earned a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Saskatchewan in 1980.
In 1987, he completed the Government Financial Management Certificate program, and, in 1989, he completed the Certified General Accountant Program.
As Director of the Land Management Branch with the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure, Svein has been responsible for providing strategic direction over one of the largest portfolios in the province.
Svein has played a key role in the redevelopment process of the Belleville Ferry Terminal. This important gateway to British Columbia is Canada's westernmost port of entry.

Past Miracle Award Winners:

2014 - Mandy Farmer 

2013 - David Roberts 

2012 - Earl Wilde

2011 - Clipper Navigation Inc.

2010 - David Featherby

2009 - The Fairmont Empress

2008 - Swiftsure International Yacht Race

2007 - Royal British Columbia Museum

2006 - Kevin Walker

2005 - Linda Petch

2004 - Royal Victoria Marathon Society

2003 - Stewart Johnson

2002 - Ian Haddow

2001 - Swans Brewpub

2000 - Michael Williams

1999 - Alex Rhodes

1998 - William (Bill) Barkley

1997 - Mark Scott

1996 - Clipper Navigation Inc

1995 - The Butchart Gardens

1993 - Pat Frumento

1992 - Les Wood

1991 - Bob Wright

1990 - Howard Petch

1989 - Jack Harris

1988 - Frank Carson

1987 - Terry Farmer

1986 - Lorne Whyte

1985 - Mike Horsey

1984 - Edd Moyes

1983 - Ken King

1982 - Flos Prior

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Pinterest Share on YouTube Share to Google+ Share to Flickr Share to Blogger Share to Instagram